February Book Review

Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay

I would say I’m sorry for writing this so late but it was difficult for me to finish this book in a timely manner. Not because it was a terribly written book, quite the opposite. Roxanne Gay is an amazing writer, she talks about the topics that are important to me in such an eloquent manner and puts to words the explanations I find hard to say.

If I could, I would carry the book around filled with sticky notes to pages with explanations/comebacks for moments when they are most needed. But, I also understand I’m improving my own eloquence and its through practice that I will one day, hopefully, reach her level.

The reason it took such a long time was because the book is so heavy. It covers many topics that elicit a lot of strong emotions in me that took a couple of days to think through and process. I also happened to read a couple of chapters out loud to my boyfriend when I thought they were particularly poignant in terms of past conversations we’d had. Again, she is way more eloquent in explaining things that I tend to flounder over as I let my anger get the better of me.

I love this book, I’m telling everyone I speak to how much they need to read it, how it’s important to understand a woman’s perspective and especially one of colour. I have no idea what it’s like to be a black woman or be part of that community, so I value the chapters about that experience and especially of their portrayal in the media.

I enjoyed how each chapter was an essay, I thought I wouldn’t, but it was actually really easy to read. At the end, I have to agree with her over how I am a bad feminist. I like terrible music, music that denigrates and objectifies women, I take advantage of gender roles, like making men carry heavy things cuz I couldn’t be bothered, and I am guilty of having snarky thoughts towards other women, mostly about appearance.

I am also guilty of putting myself down more than others when it comes to my own abilities, education, and appearance. It’s something I have been working on, but until I do reach that stage of not giving a fuck, I try to be as encouraging and supportive as I can of other women.

And most importantly, keeping myself as educated as I can about the experiences of womanhood other women have from various backgrounds.

So thank you girls for choosing this book, I definitely feel like I’ve learned a lot.

Sugar Out

princess-daisy-3

Leave a Reply

